A new law on the house floor, if passed, will require safety inspections and bear an official inspection sticker. This will be an annual inspection as we had years ago, for the most part.
A modified ancient vehicle (any vehicle manufactured in 1948 or earlier which has been modified or modernized from its original state of manufacture) may be inspected pursuant to standards issued by the National Street Rod Association and the Department of Public Safety. The inspection shall be conducted annually by an inspector certified by the National Street Rod Association. Upon successful completion of the inspection, the Department shall issue to the owner of the vehicle a Certificate of Exemption which shall be carried in the vehicle at all times that it is driven or moved on any roadway of this state. The certificate shall be submitted to any law enforcement officer upon request.
Officers at any time upon observation that a vehicle is unsafe or not equipped as required by law, or that its equipment is not in proper adjustment or repair, require the driver of the vehicle to stop and submit the vehicle to an inspection and test with reference thereto as may be appropriate. In the event the vehicle is found to be in an unsafe condition or any required part or equipment is not present or is not in proper repair and adjustment, the officer shall give a written notice to the driver and shall send a copy of the notice to the Department of Public Safety. The notice shall require that the vehicle be placed in safe condition and its equipment in proper repair and adjustment, specifying the particulars with reference thereto and that a certificate of inspection and approval must be obtained within thirty (30) calendar days. No person shall refuse to allow this type of inspection. Failure to comply will be a fine of $500.00 and up to 30 days in jail.
The fee to the car owner will be $35.00 for the inspection. According to studies there are 481 cars per 1000 people. The US Census states there are 3,610,073 people in Oklahoma. If you do the math, at the fee proposed that is a gross $26,046,676 per year on passenger vehicles. There are also fees for inspection stations and stickers. These are estimates of course.
If enacted the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Inspection Act will become law on January 1 2012.